St.Anthony's College, Kandy


"Antonian Awards for Excellence"

Background and purpose:

To coincide with the 150th anniversary celebrations (2004) of the school, a new programme called Antonian Awards for Excellence is being launched to recognize the old boys of the School, who have achieved excellence in their respective professions and vocations since leaving School. The purpose of this awards scheme is:-

a) To recognize and honor outstanding old boys
b) To motivate present students to excel in their careers and
c) To promote and publicize the school and its traditions of excellence.

Awards are being given for excellence in a variety of fields such as (interalia) sports, professions & vocations, public life, leadership in commerce & industry, Police & armed forces etc. etc.

The recipients of the Awards were based on nominations received from old boys of the School and were selected by a ten member panel, comprising the Principal, Fr. Prior and representatives of the Old Boys’ Association (Parent Body, as well as the Colombo Branch). Apart from reaching excellence in their chosen spheres of life, consideration was given for their high integrity and moral conduct and those who could be seen as role models. What mattered here is the public perception of such person as recognized leaders in the community.


Excellence Awards

Recipients of the 2004 Antonian Excellence Awards


1.      Mr. Ruwan Kapage

2.      Mr. M. S. Fernando

3.      Mr. Ranjith Samarasekara

4.      Mr. Priyantha Ekanayake

5.      Mr. Mahesh Gunathilaka

6.      M. Bernard Perera

7.      Mr. T. M. Deen

8.      Mr. Leroy Fonseka

9.      Mr. Jude Pillai

10.  Mr. L. V. Ekanayake

11.  Mr. Stephen Joseph

12.  Mr. Piyal Wijetunge

13.  Mr. A. C. M. Lafir

14.  Mr. Muttiah Muralitharan

15.  Mr. Udaya Weerakoon

16.  Mr. R. N. A. De Silva

17.  Mr. Marlon Von Hagt

18.  Mr. Umesh de Alwis


Military Service / Police

19.  Gen. Saliya Kulatunge

20.  Mr. Raja Weerakoon

21.  Mr. Asoka Ratnaweera

22.  Maj. Gen. Stanley de Silva

23.  Mr. P. B. Ekanayake

24.  Mr. W. B. Rajaguru

25.  Brig. Udena Kndaragama

26.  Brig. Sunil Dharmaratne

27.  Brig. Aruna Jayatilleke


Public Service / Politics

28.  Mr. Cecil Amerasinghe

29.  Mr. Upali Malagoda

30.  Mr. Rchie Fernandopulle

31.  Col. Ivan Samarawickrama

32.  Mr. U. Mapa

33.  Mr. Palitha Elkaduwa



34.  Dr. Anton Baslasuriya

35.  Prof. C. Suriyakumaran

36.  Dr. Patrick Nugawela


Diplomatic Service

37.  Dr. Mervyn Sikurajapathy

38.  Mr. Christopher Henricus


Education, Science and Technology

39.  Dr. C. R. Panabokke

40.  Mr. R. I. T. Alles

41.  Dr. Willie Hereth

42.  Prof. Malik Peiris


Professional Category



43.  Prof. Lakshman Alwis

44.  Mr. Mihindu Keerthiratne

45.  Mr. Ananda Diyabalange

46.  Mr. Shamil Peiris

47.  Justice Asoka De Silva

48.  Justice A. R. B. Amarasinghe

49.  Mr. S. H. M. Maharoof

50.  Dr. Upali Illangasekera

51.  Dr. E. A. C. Andree

52.  Justice D. Jayawickrama

53.  Mr. Tissa Bandaranayake

54.  Prof. A. H. Sheriffdeen

55.  Dr. Leonard Ranasinghe

55.  Dr. Jayampathy Wickramaratne





 Other Professions and Vocations


56.  Capt. Lucian Ratnayake

57.  Mr. Chitral Amarasiri

58.  Mr. Nishantha Seneviratne

59.  Mr. Michael Andree

60.  Mr. Willie Weerasekara

61.  Mr. Ranjan De Silva

62.  Mr. Rienzie Martinesz

63.  Mr. J. H. Madawela

64.  Mr. Gamini Karunaratne

65.  Mr. Mangala Boyagoda

66.  Mr. Rohana Ranaweera

67.  Mr. Gerard Mendis

68.  Capt. P. B. Mawalagedera

69.  Mr. Spencer Dias


Business / Entrepreneurship


70.  Mr. Vivendra Lintotawela

71.  Mr. Sumal Perera

72.  Mr. Christopher Joshua

73.  Mr. Ranjan Gomez

74.  Mr. Theo Fernando

75.  Mr. Franklyn Amarasinghe

76.  Mr. Stanley Wajigasekara

77.  Dr. Lawrence Perera

78.  Mr. Lakshman Perera

79.  Mr. Rohan Wijesinghe

80.  Mr. Priyantha Mendis

81.  Mr. Desmond Macky

82.  Mr. Akantha Pandithasekera



83.  Mr. Rookantha Goonatillake


Posthumous Awards 

Cabinet Ministers

84.  Hon. T. B. Ilangaratne

85.  Hon. M. D. Banda

86.  Hon. N. H. Keerthiratne

87.  Hon. Chandra Bandara

88.  Hon. A. C. S. Hameed


Governor General

89.  His Excellency William Gopallawa


Supreme Court Judge

90.  Justice R. Victor Perera


Chief Justice

91.  Justice Victor Tennekoon


Civil Service

92.  Mr. S. B. Senanayake

93.  Dr. Anton Atapattu


Town Planning

94.  Mr. Piyatissa Bulankulame



95.  Prof. George E. Tennekoon


Other Professionals

96.  Mr. Herbert Tennakoon

97.  Mr. Stanley Martin



98.  Mr. Ivan Boteju



99.   Mr. Stanley Pieris

100. Dr. Leslie Hereth

101. Mr. A. J. N. Seneviratne